The 2020 Music Book Preview

0

Are you looking for an excellent music-themed memory, oral history, novel or photography book? Dough has you covered. There are plenty of highly anticipated music books this year, including Tori Amos and Jarvis Cocker’s memoir, a deep dive into Radiohead Child A to celebrate his 20th birthday and a Spike Jonze photo book to match his documentary Beastie Boys. If you’re feeling adventurous, there’s also a horror novel by avant-garde artist Jenny Hval or an illustrated autobiography by Nick Cave. Scroll down for the 10 music books we are most excited about in 2020.


kathy-cover.png

The Go-Go have broken down a lot of barriers. Known for songs like “We Got the Beat” and “Our Lips Are Sealed”, they became the first all-female group to sell multiple platinum records who themselves played instruments, wrote their own songs and recorded a number album. a. In this new book All i ever wanted, bassist Kathy Valentine takes us on this drug-fueled rise to rock’n’roll glory. Valentine went through a very difficult upbringing, mostly fending for herself, but music came at a pivotal point in her life and not only became her career, but also her emotional rock. From struggles with drug addiction and alcoholism to contact with Hollywood actors and massive rock stars, Valentine reflects on her eventful life.


Pre-order here

Thumbnail image for screenshot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png


bestiebook.jpeg

Spike Jonze is making a documentary about the Beastie Boys (which debuts on IMAX on April 3 and hits the world on April 24 via Apple TV +), and he’s also releasing a corresponding hardcover photo book, which will be published by Rizzoli. This is the Oscar-winning director’s first photo book, and he features his personal photographs from his time with the band. It includes an afterword by Jonze, as well as new texts by Mike Diamond and Adam Horovitz of the Beastie Boys. Jonze shot several of their music videos at the time, including “Sabotage”, and his photo also graces the cover of their. Sounds of science anthology.


Pre-order here

Thumbnail image for screenshot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png


nick-stranger.jpg

There are countless biographies of Nick Cave in addition to his own novels and collections of poetry and lyrics, but we finally get an autobiography of the man himself. Famous singer / songwriter and “Prince of Darkness” Nick Cave publishes an illustrated autobiography containing “Cave commentaries and meditations” and writer Darcey Steinke “on themes that are central to Cave’s work,” according to the editor. The book will feature “original works of art, handwritten lyrics, photographs and collected personal items,” which will also be on display at an exhibition of the same name in Copenhagen.


Pre-order here

Screenshot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png


geffen-7345.jpg

Fortunately, the fluidity of genres eventually became part of the mainstream consciousness, but it was not an easy road. Cultural writer Sasha Geffen argues that various musicians throughout history have helped change mentalities and bring about this change. The book doesn’t just discuss various subversions of typical male and female gender roles, it explains how we’ve come to accept the entire gender spectrum with non-binary and third-party gender identities. Geffen chronicles the fluidity of genres in music from the 20th century to the present day, discussing everything from early blues artists and David Bowie to Missy Elliot and riot grrrl bands.


Pre-order here


Screenshot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png


toribook.png

We learned about the creative process of pop piano titan Tori Amos in her book co-authored by Ann Powers in 2005. Room by room, but in 2020 we now get a glimpse of his politics, a common thread that still runs through his music. His next book is called Resistance: A Story of Hope, Change and Courage from a Songwriter, and it takes us back to his teenage years playing the piano in DC bars during the heyday of Reaganomics and the more radical New Republican Party. According to publisher Simon & Schuster, “Amos explains how she succeeded in creating meaningful and politically resonant work against patriarchal power structures – and how her proud statements of feminism and her fight for the marginalized have always proven to be her guide. . “


Pre-order here

Thumbnail image for screenshot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png


boybands.jpg

The sources of entertainment that are commonly associated with women, especially young women, are often seen as frivolous. This is one of the reasons why there hasn’t been a lot of in-depth discussion of boy groups past and present. But cultural critic Maria Sherman tackles this subject head-on in Bigger than life, which allows fan gossip and theories to exist in the same space as serious musical analysis. The colorfully illustrated book is perfect for diehard stans, pop culture aficionados, and music fans looking to fill a blind spot.


Pre-order here

Thumbnail image for screenshot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png


total-fcking-godhead.jpg

Few can claim to be the voice of a generation, but Chris Cornell was not most people. As the lead vocalist of Soundgarden, his soft, heavy vocals radiated through hits like “Black Hole Sun” and “Spoonman”, and his band became a staple of not only ’90s grunge, but rock too. modern. Seattle music journalist and resident Corbin Reiff tells Cornell’s story with “contributions from people who knew and worked with him, as well as Cornell’s own words.” This is the story of Soundgarden’s rise, but it also covers his solo career, his time at Audioslave, the reunion of Soundgarden and his struggle with addiction.


Pre-order here

Thumbnail image for screenshot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png


radiohead-book.jpg

From the author of Your favorite band is killing me, twilight of the gods and Hard to handle comes a new book examining the importance of Radiohead Child A, which turns 20 this year. Title This is not the case: Radiohead’s “Kid A” and the beginning of the 21st century, Steven Hyden examines the most dramatic change in the catalog of one of the most influential and critically acclaimed rock bands. Through a deep dive into his songs and a discussion of his legacy, Hyden explains an album that not only made us think differently about Radiohead, but our world more broadly.


Pre-order here

Thumbnail image for screenshot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

As the main creative force of the juggernaut Britpop Pulp and enigmatic solo artist, Jarvis Cocker is one of a kind. Playing in charm, sensuality and surrealism, his music has marked the lives of countless loyal fans. He published a collection of lyrics, Mother Brother Lover, in 2011, and her forthcoming first non-lyric book turned out to be an exciting prospect. According to Rolling stone, Cocker sold the book in a bidding war with publishers several years ago and has been working on it ever since. By the publisher, This book is a song is not a dissertation, but rather an exploration by Jarvis of “the subject of creativity and how to make amazing things happen in a world of noise”.

Thumbnail image for screenshot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png


jennybook.jpeg

After his first novel Heavenly rot, Norwegian pop-art artist Jenny Hval has announced her latest novel Girls Against God, which was written before his 2019 album The practice of love. Penguin Random House describes it as “a feminist genre-distorting, time-traveling horror novel manifesto for fans of Clarice Lispector and Jeanette Winterson.” The book is set in conservative 1990s Norway and features a clan of witches, painter Edvard Munch facing off against a metal band and a group of lost schoolgirls. This experimental horror novel will be translated from Norwegian to English by Marjam Idriss.


Pre-order here

Thumbnail image for screenshot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png


Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.